UPDATE: Morning Routine

Soooooo… I have happy news!!! Our morning routine has been a success – minus a few days where we were just human.  I am a firm believer in forgiving yourself and being human.

I also pushed the wake up time back by 30 minutes and that even worked!  We are much more productive in the morning and it makes for a much better day.  Here’s a link to the previous post regarding the new morning routine.

However, I had some personal changes in my life and they have drastically changed my appetite.  I had completely stopped eating breakfast.  That is a huge no no!!  Breakfast is the most important meal of the day – hands down.  I wanted to get a better jump start to my day and my metabolism.  I decided that Daniel and I would get up and have breakfast together.

As with everything new we introduce into our lives, we are baby stepping.  Today was the first day and breakfast was a simple bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios.  Starting small, nothing to cook or heat up and easy clean up.

I totally sold it to Daniel, which was difficult because he was dead set on telling me that he eats breakfast at school with his friends. I rolled my eyes and threw a tantrum and whined about eating my boring breakfast by my boring self.  Modeling poor behavior, I know, but it worked.  He was just as excited to have breakfast and good morning talk with me as I was.

Even though it was short, it was good time spent together.  It was easier than I thought to spring from bed and eat a bowl of cereal.  I have never done this before, probably ever in my life.

I had to share this with you guys because I am so excited about how it turned out!

Leave a comment